So has anyone else been so knackered in the night that this has happened, or am I the only numpty?

I set an alarm for 3am as I was a bit lower that I wanted to be going to bed but due to a fatty meal I wasn’t sure which way my bg’s would go. I didn’t want to go low but then thinking about the meal I’d had I might end up high and I didn’t want to wake up this morning super high.

When I was ripped from my sleep as 3am, I “flashed” my Libre across my arm and had a 7.7 steady reading. I thought fine lets go back to sleep, but unknown to me I must have pressed snooze, TWICE!!  So by 3.30 my sleepy mind is thinking its time to get up, check my bg, have insulin & get up. I was 8.7 on the Libre and my bg was 9.3, so thinking “yeah it went the way I thought but not as high as I was fearing”. I then gave the insulin dose, put my head back down for a sec just to check my phone, to see if my girl had messaged at all from uni as she’s a night owl. A short while later I realise that I felt way too tired for my usual wake up time, so I double checked the time. To my absolute horror it was only 3.40am. So I chomped a good way through my hypo stash and set an alarm for an hour later. An hour later I chomped a little more of my hypo stash and set the alarm for hour later again. Hugh relief all was ok! Phew!!

At my usual wake up time my Libre said 3.8 and my actual bg reading was 5.4. Crisis averted…just! What a numpty! I’m even more knackered now. 😦

