I was actually putting off getting out of bed this morning but also wanted to get started too.  The only thing holding me back was my stupid nerves. I wasn’t nervous about actually inserting the sensor, I was nervous about doing something wrong (stupid I know, especially in hindsight).

IMG_8406

I got everything out on the sofa and looked through the manual, again, about inserting the sensor. I put a brand new battery in the transmitter, switched on the receiver and then noticed the lightening symbol and got the manual out yet again. Panic time (again!!). My first thought was “oh no its not working”.

FullSizeRenderIMG_8408

Ok, so Jason said I could contact him if I had any questions. So out comes the phone and onto the Twitter app. I had a quick response saying I needed to reconnect the transmitter. I have no idea how and so I send another question. Right don’t be silly Nic look through the menu and hey there it is, easy lol.

IMG_8410

Reconnecting…

"Problem" solved!!

“Problem” solved and ready to go :D!!

Ready to go…

IMG_8414

IMG_8415

Ok, so area on my tummy chosen, cleaned and ready to go.  All I need to do now is to ‘STOP SHAKING YOU STUPID HANDS!” (that was me talking to myself at the time :D).  I’ll try my arm another time, with these stupid shaky hands I think I’m going to need 2 hands today.

Ok, 1, 2, 3, go! (and yes I did count 😀 )

and go!!!

In position…

and go!!!!

and go!!!!

I heard the click and felt the sensor go in, nothing to really worry about.

FullSizeRender

A small bleed, but it soon stopped.

A small bleed (reassured again via a Twitter message) , but it soon stopped.

My shaky hands didn’t help much when attaching the transmitter. I didn’t notice the click as it connected so I sent a photo and another question via Twitter & was told its fine and to check that the hour glass was on the receiver, it was and so I’m good to go. Just needed to wait for the first calibration in an hours time.

Count down to first calibration.

Count down to first calibration.

Here we go, first calibration.

Here we go, first calibration.

Not the number I really wanted to see but I think the self induced "stress" has helped a little. :D

Not the number I really wanted to see but I think the self induced “stress” has helped a little. 😀

That's 1 hour and 2 hour calibration done.

That’s 1 hour and 2 hour calibration done :D. Next one in 8 hours time.

So far today’s numbers have been pants, (way above the grey shaded target area). it’s highest so far 16.9mmol at midday.

Now (3.45pm) it’s at 5.8mmol and dropping. Watching it could become quite obssesive.  So far the best thing is knowing which direction my BG is going.

In real life I’m pausing this blog & will continue “My first day with a CGM” later.

* * * * *

Only 10ish minutes later and the CGM vibrated to let me know of a projected low.

Predicted low.

Predicted low.

Next came the 10 hour calibration and the readings are not far apart.

10 hour BG calibration.

10 hour BG calibration.

CGM reading moments later.

CGM reading moments later.

In real time again now (9.18pm) below is the last 10 hours. As I said above it didn’t start too well, after a very late breakfast. You can see where the predicted low was and I was able to prevent a possible hypo (yay!!!).

First 10 hours of use.

First 10 hours of use.

Below is since my evening meal until very recently. I’m liking this one :D.

Since last meal this evening.

Since last meal this evening.

One thing for me to remember is not to forget to take the receiver upstairs with me instead of leaving it on the arm of the sofa, oops.

IMG_8439

Thanks for showing interest in my very first day with a CGM.